Business

Location, infrastructure and a quality workforce

Belgium occupies an important position on the economic chessboard. It is ranked 12th country in the world for the export of merchandise (WTO-2014 Report) and is a favourite destination for investors. Every year, billions of euros of foreign direct investment are made in Belgium.

Belgium offers the opportunity to reach 200 million consumers in a radius of 500 kilometres thanks to its central geographic position and its quality logistics infrastructures. Sea ports, inland ports, canals, airports, rail, road and motorway networks: the various communication channels in Belgium are constantly being adapted to the needs of the economy. For example, the port of Antwerp is the 2nd busiest European port and has the largest petrochemical complex in Europe. The city of Antwerp is the diamond capital with 80 % of the market in rough diamonds and 50 % in polished diamonds.

There are many other reasons to explain Belgium's economic success including a highly-qualified, multi-lingual and flexible workforce, proximity with the international decision-making sphere based in Brussels, many financial and tax incentives, affordable property prices, legendary hospitality, excellent social security and more.

Business

Localisation, infrastructure et mains d’œuvre de qualité

La Belgique occupe une position importante sur l’échiquier économique. Elle est classée 12ème pays au monde pour les exportations de marchandises (OMC – Rapport 2014). C’est une des destinations favorites des investisseurs. Chaque année, des milliards d’euros d’investissements directs étrangers sont réalisés en Belgique.

La Belgique offre la possibilité d’atteindre 200 millions de consommateurs dans un rayon de 500 kilomètres grâce à sa position géographique centrale et à ses infrastructures logistiques de qualité. Ports de mer, ports intérieurs, canaux, aéroports, réseaux ferroviaire, routier et autoroutier : les différentes voies de communication en Belgique sont constamment adaptées aux besoins de l’économie. Le port d’Anvers est, par exemple, le 2ème port européen et dispose du plus grand complexe pétrochimique en Europe. La ville d’Anvers est la capitale du diamant avec 80 % du marché des diamants bruts et 50 % des diamants polis.

De nombreuses autres raisons expliquent le succès économique de la Belgique : une main d’œuvre hautement qualifiée, multilingue et flexible, la proximité avec la sphère décisionnelle internationale ancrée à Bruxelles, de nombreux incitants financiers et fiscaux, des prix immobiliers abordables, une hospitalité légendaire, une excellente sécurité sociale…