Bruegel, Unseen Masterpieces

16 March 2016 - 16 March 2020
Brussels

From 16 March 2016 to 16 March 2020 you can immerse yourself in the masterpieces of Pieter Bruegel the Elder at the Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, through a wide spectrum of virtual and onsite experiences. Bruegel's works of art - many of which are so delicate that they have not been displayed for over 100 years - are now to be brought together using some pioneering technology.

Using images in ultra-high resolution ‘Bruegel, Unseen masterpieces’ can now be experienced from the inside out. In the paintings you will discover unexpected details which are at the very peak of this Flemish Master's expertise. Bruegel and his works are known throughout the world, but each composition includes many different characters - some surprising, some familiar - and portraits that pass comment on the past: each one is a masterpiece and certainly well worth discovering.

Michel Draguet, Managing Director at the Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, explains just why this exhibition is so special: “Most of Bruegel's paintings are on wooden panels and are extremely fragile, making them difficult to move around. Using this new technology future generations will be able to see these works, which have outlived their own history. In detail, in every possible way, with no restrictions, wherever and whenever they want to. Technology creates a new kind of dialogue between visitors and paintings in the museum. Using a blend of screens and paintings you can now take a virtual step into the works of art, allowing you to get to know them better and to experience new stories. Combining art and technology makes it possible for secrets to be revealed that until now were hidden from the general public."

The exhibition includes 19 virtual displays of the painter's masterpieces and documentation on his life, what influenced him and what he has left behind, and these are accessible to everyone using the website of the Google Cultural Institute. 12 of these multimedia displays can be seen in the Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium on interactive terminals that have been developed specifically for this project.

Using the specially developed ‘Bruegel Box’ you are literally absorbed into the painting. In one of the galleries in the museum immersive videos - each one dedicated to one particular painting - are projected onto three walls, from the floor right up to the ceiling, thanks to a sophisticated system of projectors and ultra-high resolution images. You stand shoulder to shoulder with the villagers in Bruegel's painting ‘Nederlandse Spreekwoorden’ (Dutch Proverbs, 1559), eye to eye with the palm reader on canvas in ‘De prediking van de Heilige Johannes de Doper’ (The Preaching of St. John the Baptist, 1566) or dive into the work ‘De val van de opstandige engelen’ (The Fall of the Rebel Angels, 1566).

Finally, the ‘Google Cardboard virtual reality’ also offers the viewer another innovative experience. Using your smartphone you are immersed in a 360° universe around ‘De val van de opstandige engelen’. The painting comes to life before your very eyes, and you become one of Bruegel's characters.

For more information about the exhibition, click here.

RSS

Linked Images

Linked Events

20 June 2018 - 30 June 2018
08 December 2017 - 25 March 2018
24 November 2017 - 15 April 2018

Bruegel, Unseen Masterpieces

16 March 2016 - 16 March 2020
Bruxelles

Du 16 mars 2016 au 16 mars 2020, vous pourrez vous immerger, aux Musées Royaux des Beaux-Arts de Belgique (MRBAB) dans les chefs d’œuvre de Pierre Bruegel l’ancien, grâce à un large éventail d’expériences virtuelles et sur site. Les œuvres de Bruegel, dont nombreuses ne pouvaient plus être déplacées depuis plus de cent ans compte tenu de leur fragilité, sont à présent réunies avec l’aide de technologies révolutionnaires.

Bruegel, Unseen masterpieces a recours à des images en ultra haute définition afin de permettre un vécu de l’œuvre de l’intérieur. Vous découvrirez des détails inattendus dans des tableaux qui représentent un sommet du métier du Maître flamand. Bruegel et son œuvre sont connus dans le monde entier, mais chaque composition inclut d’innombrables personnages, dont certains surprennent et d’autres sont familiers, ainsi que des portraits qui sont autant d’annotations sur le contexte historique : tous ces éléments constituent en eux-mêmes des chefs d’œuvre qui méritent d’être découverts.

Michel Draguet, Directeur général des MRBAB, explique en quoi cette exposition est si particulière : « La plupart des tableaux de Bruegel sont des panneaux de bois très fragiles et dès lors très difficilement transportables. Grâce à l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies, les générations futures pourront contempler ces œuvres qui ont survécu aux vicissitudes de l’histoire. En détails, de toute manière concevable, en toute liberté, où et quand on veut. Un nouveau dialogue entre le visiteur et les tableaux voit le jour au musée grâce à la technologie. Par le jeu conjoint des images à l’écran et des tableaux, chacun peut à présent entrer virtuellement dans les œuvres afin d’apprendre à mieux les connaître et vivre de nouveaux récits. La rencontre entre art et technologie permet de découvrir des secrets qui étaient jusqu’à présent dissimulés au regard du grand public. »

Bruegel, Unseen masterpieces est constitué de 19 expositions virtuelles rassemblant des chefs d’œuvre et de la documentation sur la vie du peintre, sur ce qui l’a influencé et ce qu’il a légué au monde. Elles sont accessibles à tous sur le site web du Google Cultural Institute. 12 de ces expositions multimédia peuvent être visitées aux MRBAB sur des terminaux interactifs spécialement développés pour ce projet.

Grâce à la Bruegel Box spécialement conçue pour l’événement, le visiteur se trouve en quelque sorte aspiré dans les tableaux. Dans une des salles du musée, des vidéos en immersion, dont chacune est consacrée à un tableau donné, sont projetées sur trois panneaux allant du plancher au plafond, grâce à un système sophistiqué de projecteurs d’images en ultra haute définition. On se trouve au coude-à-coude avec les villageois du tableau Proverbes néerlandais (1559), les yeux dans les yeux du palmiste de la toile le Prêche de Saint Jean le Baptiste (1566), ou on plonge dans l’œuvre La Chute des Anges Rebelles (1566).

Enfin, la visionneuse Google Cardboard virtual reality offre une autre expérience innovante. Au moyen d’un simple smartphone, vous êtes plongé dans l’univers à 360° de La Chute des Anges Rebelles. La peinture prend vie devant vos yeux, et vous devenez vous aussi un des personnages de Bruegel.

Pour de plus amples informations sur l’exposition, cliquer ici.