World's Best Goalkeeper trophy


Belgian Thibaut Courtois received the Lev Yashin Trophy for the Best Goalkeeper during the Ballon d’Or ceremony that rewarded the best footballers of the 2021-2022 season. Kevin De Bruyne, who finished third overall, became the best ranked Belgian in history.

Having dominated as the last defence of Real Madrid, many observers considered Thibaut Courtois the player responsible for his team having such an exceptional season.

With 23 clean sheets in 57 matches in all competitions, the player from Bree (province of Limburg) was vitally important in the titles won by the Madrid team last season, which were La Liga (Spanish championship), the Champions League and the UEFA Super Cup.

Everyone remembers the Belgian international's memorable saves against Lionel Messi and Jack Grealish, which unquestionably allowed the "Merengues" to lift the 'cup with the big ears' at the end of last season.

So it is only logical that Thibaut Courtois was elected World's Best Goalkeeper by France Football during the Ballon d'Or ceremony at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris. Created in 2019 and named after the only goalkeeper to have won the Ballon d'Or, the Lev Yashin Trophy was awarded to the "Belgian octopus" who can already boast an exceptional track record at the age of 30.

Another Belgian was also in the spotlight during the Ballon d'Or ceremony. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) finished third in the general classification, just behind French player Karim Benzema (Real Madrid) and Senegalese player Sadio Mané (Liverpool). Never before has a Belgian player been ranked so high.

These are wonderful individual awards for the Red Devils, who are also expected to excel at the upcoming World Cup.