Did you know that the word "euro" was invented by a Belgian?


On 4 August 1995, the Belgian Germain Pirlot suggested to the President of the European Commission of the time that the word euro be used for the new European currency.  In 1999, this single currency would replace the national currencies of several Member States of the European Union (EU) forming the "eurozone". The eurozone currently comprises 19 of the 28 Member States of the EU.